Inability to tolerate my own imperfections?

I wanted to ask about something I've been dealing with for a long time. I'm a college student in a technical major, and feel highly inadequate if I ever make a mistake or ask a question in class. Essentially, anything that shows I have an imperfection or that I am not as smart as the other students throws me for a loop and I immediately start doubting myself and my potential. I start thinking about everything I could have done differently to be more competent technically (especially in math). Ironically, this cycle of self-doubt paralyzes me so I don't take actions to develop my skills or ask questions when I'm confused, perpetuating the cycle. I've known this for a long time but still can't seem to get past it.

I can think of a couple reasons for this behavior:

• An abusive father who reacted with extreme anger any time I was imperfect. For example, spilling a glass of milk or accidentally making a mess would be met with yelling, swearing, and him humiliating me by cleaning it up himself as though I was incapable of helping. Obviously an inappropriate reaction to a child who just hasn't fully developed their motor skills; clearly society would not react this way to a physically handicapped person.
  • The constant description of me by my family and teachers for being "smart" or "gifted" instead of commending me for my hard work ethic, something that Stefan says he tries to avoid in raising his daughter. I think this caused me to internalize the concept that I should just be smart and that it was natural, not a result of hard work.