How were we wounded? How do we recover? How do we avoid wounding our children? Pete Gerlach shares his insights.

• 2 weeks later...

Hi Antony!

Congrats on the interview! It just so happens that I've been listening to Pete Gerlach's videos recently, after having had them on my list for months.

Before listening to this interview, my opinion was that Gerlach's ideas sound quite sound to me, except IFS. Everything he says about psychological wounds, maturity, his communication tips, his tips for improving self-respect, all of this I find right on target and useful, but this idea of subselves to me sounds crazy because there is absolutely no way to know how many someone has, it's like talking about whether angels exist or not. Back in the 80s I studied NLP, which is where IFS comes from as far as I can tell, and I do still believe there is a lot of value in NLP, but not in the bit that IFS took from NLP (the idea of communicating with yourself as if you had multiple parts--but in NLP they are just a metaphor and not subselves, not characters, and you communicate with yourself through all the sensory channels instead of only imagining visuals and monologues) and impoverished (by removing most sensory channels) and also expanded without any rationale by making parts into full personalities (unsubstantiated by any evidence, unfalsifiable, and to me downright irresponsible!)

I like how he apparently independently reached the idea that feelings point to needs, that they come from needs. I also like how his perspective is kind to everyone, how he understands that blaming and shaming wounded people doesn't help anyone, not even their victims as a way of protecting themselves from further harm, because in using blaming and shaming on others we almost certainly do it to ourselves too.