"Kids need to be hit more!" - A Work Conversation

Jay Paul

I witnessed an interesting conversation today at work, and I'd like to share a little bit of what I heard with you all and hear y'all's thoughts. 

I'm a 19 year old intern at a physical therapy office and when a co-worker pointed out how a tool used to measure the angle of flexion in a joint resembled a paddle another much older co-worker commented that when she was in school the teachers used larger wooden paddles on the children. Then all of a sudden the office broke into what sounded like a violence-against-children advocacy group. Adults of all ages 20-30-40-50-60, everyone who were present were spewing all sorts of verbal acid about how kids should be beat more at home, kids not being hit is government schools is why the youth today is so misbehaved, etc. 

Personally, I found the whole discussion disgusting and was the only person to my knowledge who didn't say a thing the entire discussion. I wanted to stand up and bring to everyone's attention they were promoting the use of violence on defenseless and dependent children with the goal of modifying their behavior instead of attempting to reason with the child why their behavior that would have provoked a beating is considered negative, and then with the child reason a moral principle for refraining from such a behavior... but instead I held my tongue. I can't say why I simultaneously felt the urge to speak up, but also keep my feelings to myself about this sensitive subject, but that's something I hope to discuss with some of you here.