Help Choosing a Major

FireShield

I'm a freshman in college and currently majoring in chemical engineering.  The jobs typically pay well and are in high demand, and I'd probably be pretty good at it and not too bored.  However... what I really want to do is write for a living.  Books, movies, TV shows, video games - anything that would allow me to come up with an interesting, complex plot.  But I can't guarantee that I'll be successful doing that - I have so many good ideas for books, movies, etc. but I have a hard time getting around to actually writing them (I prefer thinking them, visualizing them, and perfecting the idea).  So what I was planning to do is get a job in the field of chemical engineering and write books on the side, and if the books sell well, I'd write for a living.

But I was talking with one of my friends earlier about the ideas I have for some of my books, and he said I should major in English since I seemed so interested in it and disinterested in engineering (and he's not one for rash decisions).  My problem is that I have so many things I want to do and so many things I'm good at (I'm good at and am interested in everything except the fine arts, basically), so it's hard for me to choose.  I am interested in EVERY field of engineering, and there are dreams that I have of things I'd like to accomplish in each, as well as in other fields of study.  I wish I could live forever so I could accomplish everything I want to accomplish, but that's obviously impossible.