College Fever

Amelius

I'm somewhat over halfway through with my undergraduate education(I'm majoring in electrical engineering and have a minor in philosophy). However, throughout my college experience I've been very depressed. Most of the experience has felt like merely going through the motions; I look around me and all I see are people who don't appreciate the pursuit of knowledge as an end, rather they treat it as some loathsome burden which they can't wait to get rid off. I've also suffered from OCD and paranoia which have made my learning experience very bad at college.(I used to be top of my class in high-school) When I see other people nagging about how they loath some upcoming exam, I start feeling angry and wish I were in their place with some peace of mind because I sometimes feel like most students don't deserve the brains they've been given by the millions of years of evolution.My question boils down to this: How should I approach my learning experience? On one hand, I can view it as something to get over with and aim to get good grades, without necessarily learning anything of value.(There are tons of people I know who just solve previous exams and do well on exams without understanding the essence of the material). But with this approach, I get tempted to slack off since I would not be as engaged. Also, this lack of interest and curiosity inevitably permeate to other parts in my life. For example, call this weird but every time I get into this mode, I start taking everything else less seriously(like my atheism, anarchism, veganism,...) and just non-chalantly say "Fuck it!"On the other hand, I could approach the learning experience from the perspective of the love to learn(and of course with the purpose of securing a potential job in the market), yet I have seen that people who do this do not do so well with grades since the way the educational system is is that it rewards people who practice to take exams and not to actually learn anything.(...and t