Review my first unschooling 'plan'

tasmlab

Hi FDR friends!

Here's a draft of my first unschooling/homeschooling monthly plan for my eight-year-old daughter.  I'm brand new to this and my wife and I are fighting pangs to get too schooly at home.  Let me know if you think this is too structured, too vague, concerns, additions, etc.  It's being deployed on Monday.

This is essentially a list of activities to be completed each month.  It feels open to me but should only take about 1/8 the time going to school full time would take, so there is still lots of free/self directed time.

My five year old's is much less.

Thanks in advance!

Adie’s recommended minimum monthly homeschool activities (draft)

Month ______________________________________ Grade 3.

Reading and writing:

• 1 fiction book, Adie’s choice, age appropriate (continually more advanced)
  • 1 Non-fiction book (science, history, tutorial, geography, biography etc.), Adie’s choice
  • For each book, a scripted Youtube report to be created, 2-4 minutes in length.  To be posted to Adie’s website in video and text form.  Fiction report can be speech/talking head. Non-fiction report should include photos/video/diagrams or other explanatory images.
  • Parents to recommend literature as appropriate to sub self selection now and then
  • Note: Library trips or Amazon used bookstore needed

Writing:

• Ongoing or multiple fiction or non-fiction projects of Adie’s choosing (e.g., Gilbert’s diary, short stories, other report).
  • Adie’s discretion
  • Progress shown over time
  • Scripted video production counts
  • Published online at Adie’s website

Spelling and grammar:

• Spelling and grammar book lessons as appropriate
  • Spelling and grammar apps on computer.

Math:

• Four lessons per month from somewhere like:
    • Khan Academy
    • Brainpop
    • Itunes U
    • IXL
  • Sub mathbook progress as applicable.
  • More is dandy

Science and social studies: