Bitcoin donating

A__

I'm sorry if this isn't a good place to post this. I'd like to switch my donations from PayPal to Bitcoin. Mostly because I can't stand Bank of America or any other bank for that matter getting a "foreign transaction fee" every damn time I donate. I'm a Bitcoin newb. Can someone walk me through this process or post a link to a concise, trusted way to go about this?

Welcome to the world of Bitcoin! The simplest and safest way for US residents is to sign up for an account at https://coinbase.com/ There, it is like PayPal, and every bit as easy to use. You link your bank account, which takes a few days to set up, and then you can purchase bitcoin, send bitcoin, and receive bitcoin.

Because bitcoin payments are irreversible, Coinbase's default behavior is to not give you bitcoins until the ACH withdrawl transaction has cleared through your bank. This is to prevent you getting bitcoins (which can't be revoked) and then immediately cancelling your ACH withdrawl (which can be revoked) so that you get free bitcoins. Therefore, once you initiate a purchase of bitcoins, it takes a couple of days for your bank to clear the transaction, after which you receive the bitcoins. If you want bitcoins instantly, you can set that up, it just takes some extra effort.

And finally, ENABLE 2-FACTOR AUTHENTICATION immediately after creating a Coinbase account - before you link your bank account or do anything. This feature makes your account much more safe from hackers. I suggest "Google Authenticator" for your smartphone. And in case you're nerdy enough to use Google Voice, don't give your google voice number to Coinbase because google voice numbers are internet-accessible and therefore more susceptible to hackers.