Shame in Donating

NGardner

I recently gave a donation while ordering the FDR books. I'm on podcast 1102 and watching youtube videos that a recent multiple times a week. My shame about not donating is stronger now than before donating. I feel I need to give so much more but I'm a student right now. This is by far the best education I have ever received and have every intention on proving it with large donations when I have the money. So why do I have the shame? 

Stefan has said repeatedly to not donate if you don't have the money, and I'm pretty sure he doesn't want people feeling guilty about it.
Also if you are a student you probably have some time you could spend promoting the site on other websites, or something of that nature.

I'm sure you can do just as much good with time spent promoting FDR as you could with a small donation. So this isn't really about FDR or about donating…

So I will assume that you are smart enough to figure those things out. Can you tell us about your history with guilt? And maybe your history with money?
  • Upvote 1

If it makes you feel any better, Stefan doesn't want everyone to donate, in fact he has told people to stop donating to pay for therapy etc.

I'm personally saving every cent I make for the most part, as I am a student too. I need to be able to get my feet on the ground so I'm sure Stefan doesn't mind my, or your, waiting to donate.

If you're feeling shamed, you're imagining either that you really ought to donate now for some reason, or that Stefan, or someone else would think poorly of you if you don't- which is not the case- in CBT that is a cognitive distortion called "Jumping to conclusiong: mind reading"

You could donate time rather than money. That's very much appreciated. Thankfully, I have enough spare change to throw FDR some shekels, but I wanted to donate more than money, so I donated some time developing the FDRPodcasts site with JamesP and Mikey Mike.