Considering online public school...

ROLLNSONG

I've been homeschooling for the past 4 years and am considering switching to an online public school. However, being anti-state, as most of us on here are, I have my reservations.

As a single-working-homeschooling parent I am interested in the tuition free aspect as well as the structure and input from others who are more knowledgeable in certain areas where I am lacking. Additionally, through the public school option the kids have access to all public school extra curricular activities in my area. However, like I said, I have reservations regarding enrolling in a "public school" even if it's done at home. Am I just being paranoid? I've read many reviews that are across the spectrum. Does anyone here have any experience in either Connections Academy or K12.com? I appreciate any help.

I am happy to answer any questions that you may have.  

As someone who was stuck in K12(GCA) for several years, I'll give you my two cents on the system and why you should avoid it like the plague(this doesn't apply to other online systems although some things will most likely overlap). 

First and foremost the best way to describe the educational/teaching 'methods' is that it's completely impersonal. You're almost completely cut off from teachers outside of optional online class sessions known as Elluminates. Trying to get any real degree of connection going with the teachers is frustrating and feels pointless a lot of the time.