I'm new to self knowledge.

Rummycat

I've been listening to Stef and listen to him about 20 hours a week for 6 months.  I need some help or information.I'm currently underemployed.  I left an unsteady, off and on, dead-end job of 3 years and decided to go back to school.  I have been going to school to obtain a degree in psychology.  My father is a disabled veteran and in California that means I get to go to schools tuition free.  (I know I'm not entitled to have this but I don't have many other choices to broaden my job market.)  I'm bisexual and in a relationship with a man that I care about on an emotional level and would like to make it permanent. He feels the same way and we have been together for 4 years.  I live in an appartment with roomates who are steadily employed but are easy to appease their ego's but are rather devoid of any real morality and depth. 

I don't have a single flicker of hope or passion for anything in my future right now.  I don't have a support system of friends or family that I can depend on (other than my boyfriend of which I feel guilty about.)  I'm fat because I'm a stress eater and I have alot of internal stress. I don't have a great personality and people seem to gravitate away from me. I know this is wrong for me to be like this for so many reasons. 

I have a feeling or a thought that if I had a paying career I can throw myself at, it would solve the majority of my problems since I feel the root of all this is the helplessness.  I feel that if I take on another entry level job I will stagnate myself again.  I can't however come up with an alternative.  I need a starting point and maybe a perspective change.  How can I be more empirical with my approach or thought process so I can move forward?

I will get to your question, but I will address your post in order.

I'm sorry for whatever it is that happened to you in your history that resulted in these symptoms you have posted about here.