University and computer science

I'm a self taught guy so I only really know about what people who did go to college tell me, and to my surprise they always tell me about the huge amount of focus being put into technologies that are no longer relevant, and in teachers who teach how to code with pen and paper or some other impossible to debug technique that has nothing to do with coding.

If this is a skill people develop by practice and a natural hability in math/language (genetics). Is there really any point in going to college to learn this?

Depends on where you go. It really shouldn't matter if an older language is used if the core principle in the course are solid. C++. Java, Python should just be means to show the big ideas. If you just want technique X, it may be better to teach yourself, if you want the deep how and why of computer science a formal eduction 4+ year programs are appropriate vehicles to that end.

As to the outdated comment, you do realize how much COBOL code is still out there and running? If you set yourself up right you can make as much or more with code maintenance as code development.

• Upvote 1

I think it is helpfull to get away from the fact using programming as a benchmark to measure intelligence or if college works as advertised.

We might aswell use "liberal arts" as a  benchmark if you want to go there. You have to understand that a lot of nonsense degree are promoted because part of higher education is a scam.

The scam is to feed some ego of people who dont wnat to do the legwork doing any of the science disciplines.

Even then a lot of it you can do by yourself (especially the theoretical part).

Its important to not feed this scam by acknowledging certain course as totally useless.

For CS..I think their would be a few schools that would teach ( in an ancap environment) that would concentrate on compiler deisgn, networking protocols, os design,..,

• Upvote 1