Why do I get so angry at my children?

CostcoSamples

I have 3 kids, ages 5, 3, and 1. My oldest, a boy, is a wonderful person but my repeated failure to control my temper has caused him to detach from our once close connection. I am new to peaceful parenting (been trying to do it for about a year now). I am very ashamed to say that I spanked him from about age 2 to 4. But even now I still lose control and hurt him physically usually by pushing him. I know he is terrified but I just get so overcome with anger in the moment. It breaks my heart when I think of all the times I've hurt him, even now I'm crying as I type.

Because of how I've treated him, he is detached from me and does not listen or even want to talk most of the time. He's become defiant and wants to be in charge. I know I need to reconnect with him and earn back his trust and love but my anger gets in the way. I'll succeed for a month or two then something stupid will set me off and I'll scream or push and we are back to square one.

My own upbringing was terrible. My parents spanked me a lot, they screamed at me and each other constantly. I thought I had dealt with these issues until I became a father, now i see I have a long way to go.

My other two kids have suffered some but not as much. My first boy has taken the brunt of it. I want desperately to be the kind of father my son needs. I want to be the father I always wanted.

I can't afford therapy but if anyone knows of some workbooks or other ideas I'm open to any suggestions!

Imagine posting to a feminist forum "I've been with my wife for 5 years now. I'm very ashamed to say I hit her for two years of our relationship. But even now I lose control and hurt her physically. I desperately want to be the kind of husband my wife needs. "