Why you shouldn't donate to food banks

lifegoesonbrah

I worked as a policy advocate for a year at a food bank council, a dark time in my life. My job was to advocate for policies that promoted various social food programs, SNAP, WIC, TEFAP, etc etc etc... It was such a huge relief to leave this job behind as it was morally repulsive to me. I want to offer some advice when donating to food banks.

A large majority of food banks pursue several federal grants which are granted to those organizations that wish to promote and advocate for federal food assistance programs, which always seemed silly to me to promote government services that essentially make food banks irrelevant. It is the same as a private sector company promoting it's competitions superior products. The reason that food banks do this is because these grants provide huge funding resources that pay for staffing, equipment, marketing, and basically any aspect of the organization that any competent employee can justify in the grant application. These grants are usually matching grants, meaning that the organization would match the federal funds applied for. At my organization, the grants would always be matched by donors or private sector grants. The private sector grants always came from large grocers, particularly Wal-Mart. I probably don't have to explain here why Wal-Mart would be interested in helping to support and promote programs like WIC and SNAP (food stamps).

So basically when you donate to food banks, your money is going towards promoting federal programs.