How should I have protected my invention?

Hello everyone,

I have invented a new tyre formulation. I am a chemist. Not only will the tyres last longer but it will slightly reduces the gaz consumption whithout compromising the road holding. The invention consists in adding two new substances in small proportions to the mixture before the "cooking" operation. These substances are not unknown, they are pretty common, but no one had ever thought of adding them in combination in a tyre composition.

Suppose I could manufacture such new tyres, it would take 5 minutes using GC-MS to identify the two new components and their respective proportions.

Needless to say that I already filed two international patents, and hopefully in a year, you will be using them with your car wihtout even knowing.

What would you have done yourself?

What should I have done in your patentless society?

Given that today's market is the product of interventionist policies, things like patents are part of the business model.  However, in a vountary society, I don't know if intellectual property would emerge.  

Certainly, contracts would still be used, thus one can put copyright claims on a product, thus whoever purchases that product implicitly agrees to that contract. 

So, that's a possible model one can use.

Another way is to use a prototype to serve as proof of concept which would allow you to promote the benefits of your idea, and then selling that concept to the highest bidder or just going around and selling teaching services to bring everyone uptodate.   Or, in the age of the internet, putting it online and granting access to the info after payment -- which again can bring us back to the copyright model mentioned above.

Another model is like what artists do.  They put themselves out there and ask for donations so that they can continue working in their field.  Same model you see with FDR. 

So, those are just some ideas off the top of my head.