What are People's thoughts on Hunting?

KiriKaeshi

I was wondering what people think about Hunting, with regard to UPB, peaceful parenting, etc.  I am just starting out as a hunter.  It has been a nightmare of red tape and government BS, all so I can hunt on "the king's land".  I dont see any necessary violation of UPB, but I'm a little on the fence regarding peaceful parenting.  My son is only 18 months old now, but I expect to introduce him to hunting and fishing one day.  I can see how exposing him to things like actually killing, and the processing of a carcass could be unpleasant or even traumatic if done too early, or in a thoughtless way.  Any suggestions?

All you have to do to avoid exposing him to something inappropriate is to be honest with him and with yourself, and be curious about his experience.  It would seem to me that exposure to hunting would come in steps.  Wait for him to ask about it (he will, I guarantee).  So it might go something like this - At a certain age, he will figure out that the meat he eats comes from an animal.  Then he might figure out that it has to be cooked.  Show him how you season and cook raw pieces of meat into what ends up on the table.  He might express curiosity about the process of butchering the animal.  Anyway, you can see where I am going.  I am completely speculating, but just imagining what an appropriate, healthy process of introducing a kid to the reality of hunting, killing, butchering, and cooking an animal would look like.  The important thing is that you are curious about his reaction.  If it really bothers him, he might feel shame, and try to suppress his feelings to win your approval.  Let him know it is okay to feel about it as he does.  What was your introduction to hunting?