How are orphans taken care of in an anarchy?

I was talking to somebody about anarchism when they raised the point about how are children whose parents pass away looked after in an anarchist society? 

Thinking about it I can't really think of any profitable 'free market' way to handle this situation, I'm a bit of a newb at anarchism though. 

I was thinking that various charities / religions / willing foster parents could take them on but who would organise all of this and what would be the motive? - I don't think charities alone would cut it.

I was thinking that various charities / religions / willing foster parents could take them on but who would organise all of this and what would be the motive? - I don't think charities alone would cut it.

think in a society which bases itself on positive early childhood experiences would have a huge motive to fund  initiatives to help orphans. The idea of a child growing up without stable caretakers would probably rip most people's hearts to shreds.

I think the issue of money and profit may be confusing you. What may help is to think of children in general. Having a child is the worst possible financial investment you could make,  yet most people have children. People who only seem to care about money have children. Why? Well, it has a lot to do with evolution and emotion. People get an emotional satisfaction when then have a child.

It is easy to think of markets in terms of profit and loss, but they are much more complex than that. There are many emotional and ideological aspects which play into market forces. Empathy is a huge market force, and can be used to great effect.