"What Motivates You?"

shirgall

When i was a hiring manager, I didn't know enough about myself to ask the question "What motivates you?" to a potential employee, but I realize now it's a very powerful question to understand how much someone knows about him-(or her-)self. Heck, this is a good question to consider outside the scope of employment.

I am disappointed in this Lifehacker treatment of the question:

http://lifehacker.com/the-best-way-to-approach-the-what-motivates-you-inte-1704284162

There are some self-reflective questions in the article, sure, but I bet the gang here has some pretty good ideas on how to answer the question to their own satisfaction, let alone the additional step of whittling that answer down into something attractive to offer an employer.

What say you all?

• Upvote 1

What motivates me?

Good and rational (and honest) people around me and also opportunity to ear money by doing something i like and/or is fun too.

Emphaty from others, for terror that is the fear of failure especially in work places.

Possibly the two biggest motivators in my life have been envy and horror. Many of the things which I'm good at, are skills that other people had who I was determined to get better at, like guitar, singing and debating. (Spite was a big motivator in the singing too, because people told me I sang like crap my whole life).

Hitting rock bottom woke me up to the fact that I needed to turn my life around. The horror of that experience keeps me honest with myself, and I discourage my own rationalizations, holding myself to a very high standard. That's why I got into therapy and consumed so much FDR content, pushed past my comfort zone and made connections with other people on the same journey. That's why I practiced web development every single day until I got a job doing that for a living. It's why I'm constantly on the search for things which will give my life meaning.