Putting Voluntarism into Action Professionally

I had a professional experience I'd like to share that I think is a good example of implementing voluntarism into my professional life. 

I am a licensed professional engineer. I had a client that I did work with for about 6 months who used my stamp and signature in my absence, without my permission. This is fraudulent and a form of identity theft. I discovered this through working with another, mutual client of ours. I found a set of drawings with my stamp and signature that I didn't work on. Tracing the paper trail, I found the client who used it without my permission, while I was on vacation. Once discovered, I called that client, but only got his voicemail.

I called the local police where I live to ask what to do. They said the complaint must be made in the jurisdiction where the crime took place (different than my home). So, I called the jurisdiction where the crime took place and they instructed me to file a report with my local police and then file for a transfer to their jurisdiction. Things complicated further when I mentioned that this client operated in a third jurisdiction, in a different state. I called the police where the client operates and they said they can't do anything unless the report and complaint came from the jurisdiction where the crime took place. So... plan in mind: put together the evidence (emails, phone calls, documentation, etc.), make copies, go to my local police to file a report, transfer that report to the jurisdiction where the crime took place, that jurisdiction investigates, contacts the jurisdiction local to my client, we get lawyers involved, mitigate, potentially litigate (blah, blah, blah). Seeing this as the option that the state had for me, I wanted to act in a voluntary manner and leave the state out.

I then spoke with a fellow FDR member about options. We discussed non-police action and staying out of the courts. He really liked the idea that I came up with.