How To Calm A Crying Baby - Robert Hamilton

A4E

I'm curious as to why he waited until the very end to address the fact that a crying baby might actually be communicating a problem. Up until that point, he approaches it as if it's an issue of the parents' comfort, with no consideration of the baby's experience. Even once he pointed out that the baby could be communicating a problem, he didn't qualify his technique as a way of ruling out crying for the sake of contact.

I also wonder if the induced waggle was exaggerated for the sake of being overt for the video's sake. It almost seems as if that could be potentially dangerous to the spinal cord. I'm no doctor though, so perhaps I'm being overly cautious. On the other hand, is there such a thing as being overly cautious with the spinal cord of the most delicate state a human exists in?

I had similar thoughts on this video.  I remember my kids being perfectly happy with their chest against mine or my husband's or with their head on our shoulder where they could hear our soft words.  But this maneuver wouldn't ever occur to me (my hands are so small I'd be likely to drop a baby this way) and certainly not before checking the diaper, clothes, hunger level of the child, etc. It would have been nice if an explanation had been offered.  What is it about this that works better than a cradle hold?  Would be nice to know.

• Upvote 2

(my hands are so small I'd be likely to drop a baby this way)