Utilitarianism?

Hawkland

Hey everyone

I apologize if this has been debated before, but I did not see any threads on this.

And I am very new to writing about and discussing philosophical issues, so bear with me if I present some of the premises unclearly.

The question I want to ask is what seems to me as a utilitarian aspect of Stef’s philosophy:

An example that is often referred to as analogous to the immorality of the state is the immorality of slavery. Based on the fact that slavery is inherently immoral, it did not matter who would end up picking the cotton or any other consequences that would follow an abolishment. Likewise, the state is an inherently immoral institution, and whatever anarchical society structures that may follow an abolishment … well, fun to discuss, but fundamentally secondary to the core moral issue.

Now I am having difficulty understanding how empiricism can fit into this:

In the Introduction to Philosophy podcast series there is a segment on how one can empirically verify moral questions. For example, if you argue against property rights, then you have to explain why societies that have respected property rights generally have done better throughout history.

Sure, I accept that following the non-agression principle empirically has positive outcomes for all parties (win-win), but I fail to see how using empiricism does not fall into the category of utilitarianism. Not that there would be any problem with positive outcomes, of course. But then using empiricism, I guess, you are conceding that it does kind of matter what will be the likely consequences of an abolishment?

Anybody want to help me clarify this?

As far as I can understand, Stefan rejects utilitarianism, but I have not heard him put a label on the philosophy that he is putting forward, that is - neither deonthology nor virtue ethics. Is it a combination of the two latter?

Thank you :)