The very personal tale of the First Woman in Space

This is an essay I wrote recently, watching the world celebrating the birthday of Valentina Tereshkova, the first woman in space, one of the most powerful feminist figures in history. My personal twist on her story is that I studied space flight in the university in Moscow and heard many stories about what actually happened during the first women's flight in space, and had a chance to visit a semi-secret museum and to study the first female toilet designed just to put women in space. 

The other personal twist is that my father was born the same year and the same month as that woman. 

So the tale begins back in the USSR and back in March 1937

http://tinyurl.com/jgnp8sm

Enjoy

Igor Rogov
Melbourne
Australia

• Upvote 1

Hi Torero

I could perhaps understand where you are coming from, and of course you may have gathered that I am convinced that the space flight was real, - for Chaika as well as for many other people; the orbital flight is now pretty much a boring routine and should be treated as such. Moon flights of the Americans were real as well, and Russians were about to perform human walk on the moon, it is just they lost the race to be there first, so the politicians lost an interest in this part of the program altogether and forced its closure. 

The irony is that the state propaganda machine that trumpeted about the achievements in space made it so loud and obnoxious, that the non-believers appeared all over the globe. Sort of natural behavior for a smart individual not to believe all the bullshit he is fed through the TV or radio, especially if it state-owned channel. This is natural, and I share that sort of intellectual dissent, but I don't share the extremely unsophisticated view that the space travel is impossible altogether, just because the state propaganda made it so unbelievably great.