I once ....

TheBishop

I once was boy that thought Drugs and Russians were evil.  I believed America's military was an instrument of justice, all around the world. It's not surprising considering my father, a Colonel, had taught me how to salute before I could really read.  By the time I was ten I could tell most helicopters apart by the sound of their rotors.  I knew the Phonetic alpha bit, and almost every Soviet and Nato aircraft. I was obsessed and wanted to die a soldiers death.

I graduated high school in 97. Clinton was President, and was doing bad things to the military by my fathers mind, so he pushed be to go to college first. There I learned drugs weren't that evil, people were. I also began my studies into the criminal justice system. Which can ONLY be stated as a contradiction of terms. I also fell into what would be my second degree, political science.  The two go hand and hand. Though, I never really let go of my childhood militarization and deep rooted conservatism, I know this is were the cracks began to develop. Especially, since it began to draw out my what I found to be more natural, rebellious nature.

I got into a lot of trouble in college. It seems I was constantly figuring my way out of one mess into another. I think there was only one year, (out of six) I did not go to Jail. I quickly made that up by being arrested multiple times in a year. In only one instance was I ever a threat to another human being. That is the only one I truely should have been punished for, and it turns out, would be the most costly later down the road (DUI).Some I was dumb and stupid. Others, in what I thought was suppose to be a free country, can only be viewed as utterly ridiculous. Yet, even then I was still only seeing a small frame in a much the bigger film.