Hello from Southern California!

RachelAnn

Hi everyone, 

I haven't officially introduced myself yet, I'm Rachel from the Los Angeles area. I started to listen to Stef a few years ago, but more consistently over the last year. I feel like I won the lottery by finding FDR at such a young age - I believe that it has saved me from a lifetime of heartache and disappointment. All of my life I searched for rational consistency but couldn't find it anywhere, not in the public school system, not in the mormon church, and definitely not in my relationships. This past year I have really dedicated my time to acquiring more self knowledge and information about my history through therapy, journaling, podcast listening, and browsing these boards. I recently ended a 7 year relationship that I felt was not beneficial for me and my pursuit for philosophy and truth, which was the hardest thing I've ever had to do. 

I am passionate about health and child development- I am currently a health coach, but my dream is to cultivate a career in advocating for peaceful parenting. I see myself working with parents helping them to secure a healthy bond with their children and learn how to connect and negotiate over using control and punitive punishments. FDR has helped me realize how much the world truly needs that, and so I can't let this passion of mine and insatiable hunger for knowledge in the field be wasted. 

I am eager to start the next chapter of my life by applying these new values and principles to my everyday life and connecting with intelligent, empathetic people like yourselves. I just wanted to tell you a bit about my story before I start posting more on the boards. I really look forward to chatting with you all. To the members I have had the pleasure of speaking to already, thanks for being so awesome.

Thanks! :)
  • Upvote 4

Welcome

I wish you the best achieving your passion helping parents practice peaceful parenting.