I'm fly, I'm pilot

cdc3rd

Howdy.
I've been listening to FDR for about six months now and am really glad I found this valuable source of information. I recently set up a auto donation to help out a bit every month and decided to check out the board after getting the "thank you" email.

I started down the whole libertarian track a few years ago when I discovered "Penn and Teller's: Bullshit" show. I found that I agreed with a lot of their arguments and started to follow Penn. From there I found out about Ayn Rand and read all of her stuff. I'm really not sure how I first discovered Stefan, but I somehow did.

I am a military pilot and find that my personal beliefs conflict with my career. I have yet to actually face something that has forced me to act in a way that I think would be wrong, but I'm not sure that will last the rest of my career. I did swear an oath to "support and defend the Constitution of the United States against all enemies, foreign and domestic," but I feel that most treat that as lip service. (I know I should have affirmed, but yey for not sticking out)

Fun times ahead, I'm sure.

Anyways... Hello!

(I noticed that FireFox's spell check doesn't work in this text input box, booooooooo)

• Upvote 3

Welcome!

I'm a civilian pilot myself. Of course I've been asked a lot why I didn't go the military route. My decision partly has to do with the ethical issues you're facing right now.

Thanks.

Yeah, my outlook on life has changed since I joined. All I was thinking in the beginning was "what would be the most awesome job ever?"

I'm not saying I want out at all. I'm happy with where I am. We will just see what happens down the line. I will just always try to be the voice of reason.

Going the civilian route has to be a lot more difficult. Do you fly for a living or just for fun?

Hello, 

Happy that you decided to support the show with your brains and your nickels!